Sanctuary of Mazzucco
In the municipality of Camandona, immersed in the green woods of the Mazzucco, a small sanctuary has been dedicated to two mothers: Saint Anne and St. Mary of the Graces. The building dates back to the 17th century, and its current appearance, with a single nave, is the result of a remake of the 1700s. The building is a massive rectangular construction with a small bell tower, begun in the first half of the 17th century, radically renovated in the 18th century, and modified yet again in the 19th and 20th centuries.
The main altar is surmounted by an icon of Saint Anne painted by Carlo Sogno; the rich interior decorations were done by the painter Ciancia around 1872. The façade is adorned with a recent fresco (1988) representing the Madonna with Child.
Ever since it was built, this small alpine sanctuary has been cared for by a hermit, whose living quarters are right next to the church.
The adjacent area is shaded by large beech trees planted between 1885 and 1889, and a fountain flows in front of the façade.
A short distance from the sanctuary lies an important trail used by livestock breeders in the central Biellese area to take their herds to the summer pastures of the upper Valsessera.